Show Recaps

We got the opportunity to play at the Rock and Roll Camp for Girls for the campers during their lunch. It was amazing, to say the least. I volunteered the first three year of Rock Camp, as a counselor, instructor and organizer. It profoundly affected my adult life – I found a community through Rock Camp. I was only 21 the first year of Rock Camp, and if I had been three or four years younger I could have attended, but to be honest, I think I still gained a huge amount there: Finding friends, band-mates, like-minded souls and myself. So thank you, RRC4G, for changing my life. I played guitar before, but at Rock Camp I decided to learn the bass. So without Rock Camp, I might not be in play/start.

It was also the most nervous I’ve ever been at a show, and I’ve played with some pretty big bands. I think we all knew that if we sucked, it would be reflected in their faces – young adults don’t lie like your friends do. But the girls were amazing. They danced along with us and asked for autographs – I don’t think a show can get any better than that.

5690_101653697748_706152748_2182051_5351721_n

We also played in Seattle at the Wild Rose Bar (the lesbian bar), which was hella fun. The crowd was just amazing. I discovered that I get a little light-headed in REALLY crowded places, and had to douse myself with water (which is why you’ll notice my hair being all wet in the photos).  Next time, I’m bringing my own fan. But really, I love those kinds of shows the best – when the crowd is right up with you and you can see everyone all sweaty and dancing. I love what we do.

-candise

About candise

Books and bikes, Zelda and bass guitars. I want to have some sweet conversations about social constructs, -isms and deconstruction of the media.

2 responses to “Show Recaps”

  1. Bryn Knowles, Esq. says :

    Proud of y’all!

  2. finnegan5 says :

    spidermonkey! i was there! woop-woop.

Leave a Reply

