candise’s top choices of 2011

FAVORITE ALBUM OF 2011

1. Robyn – Body Talk

Okay, I know Body Talk came out in 2010, but Robyn has been all over 2011 promoting this album, so I think it counts. Touring with Katy Perry, showing up on Ellen and SNL, doing that CRAZY AWESOME dance for “Call Your Girlfriend”, and stealing my heart with her elfish face and 1990s style.

2. Glasvegas – Euphoric Heartbreak

Do you know how it feels to listen to an ENTIRE album start to finish, and each piece feels like small but vital key to understanding something really important? That is Euphoric Heartbreak. This is a haunting concept album, one that manipulates your emotions. When I listen to this album, rather than singing along unabashedly, I find myself listening to my own heartbeat and noticing every beat, ting and sound on the track.

Runner Up: Austra – Feel It Break

TOP SONGS OF 2011

1. Adele – “Rolling in the Deep”

I know everyone is all about “Someone Like You”, but seriously, “Rolling in the Deep” made me love mainstream music again. With its simple but powerful driving drum beat and nostalgic girl group sound (which I am always a sucker for), even though it was totally overplayed on the radio, I can still listen to this on repeat. Plus, the video is really cool.

2. YACHT – “Dystopia (The Earth is On Fire)”

3. Britney Spears – “Till the World Ends”

Britney-haters: Eat it. Femme Fatale is an awesome album, and “Till the World Ends” is one of the best dance songs of the year. There is a brilliant breakdown two-thirds into the song where the song gets muted; I imagine a queer kid standing outside a club, listening to the muffled sounds inside and working up the courage to go in. Then the music breaks out just like you opened the club door, and everything is just as bright and scary and beautiful as you thought it would be.

Extra trivia: Ke$ha wrote this song specifically for Britney.

About candise

Books and bikes, Zelda and bass guitars. I want to have some sweet conversations about social constructs, -isms and deconstruction of the media.

Leave a Reply

